Random Thoughts— 08

Richard Crim
13 min readSep 1, 2024

What I SEE.

This is a visual metaphor for our world. The Earth is dominated by oceans. They touch and surround the terrestrial biosphere. At the center is the “anthroposphere”, the “constructed world” that we have built over the last 10,000 years.

The things I noticed this week.

I have been thinking a lot about something I read this week.

The writer Michael Campi writes about choosing to NOT bring up the subject of the Climate Crisis with his daughter.

“My daughter is turning 34 this year and she is enjoying her life. Every time I think about broaching the subject of what’s happening (Climate Crisis) I think…”

“I am certain that she understands what’s going on and she chooses to enjoy herself and I don’t have a problem with that.”

who am I?

What right do I have to make her unhappy?

What right do I have to hurt her?

What right do I have to satisfy my ego and sacrifice her enjoyment of life?

It’s not my place to be the “Great Destroyer of Illusions” as some doomers claim to be.

It’s not my place to be “The Only True Realist” as some doomers claim to be.

--

--

Richard Crim

My entire life can be described in one sentence: Things didn’t go as planned, and I’m OK with that.